Village of Liverpool
310 Sycamore Street • Liverpool, New York 13088
                           315-457-3441
 
 
Village Historian
 HoursThursday 6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m
  Saturday (2nd & 4th) Noon -4:00 p.m.
 Museum & Office
 314 Second St. Liverpool, NY
 Phone 315-451-7091
 Emailliverpoolhistorian@yahoo.com
 Historian
 Dorianne Elitharp-Gutierrez

 
Liverpool Public Library's historic photo collection is available online. For a description of the collection click here
 
 
To search and browse the collection of over 1,000 images, click here
 
 
 
 Did you know?....
 

2012 is the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812

 

Capt. Israel Adams of Liverpool, a veteran of the war, tells his story:

 

  • Voyaging to China, Greenland, North Africa
  • Trading in Barbados
  • Battling pirates in the Caribbean
  • Harassing the British on Lake Ontario and the Thousand Islands
  • Running his boats on the Oswego and Erie Canals, the Great Lakes, and the Mississippi
  • Enduring the cholera epidemic

 

...And living to tell the tale. Published in 1848, his story is in the collection of the Liverpool Historian’s Office.

 

 
 

 


 

 
 
                         The Gleason Mansion
                           (c. 1880 and 2001)
The Liverpool Village Museum and  Historian's office are located in the Gleason Mansion at 314 Second Street, in the Village. the 1857 Gleason Mansion is listed on the State and national Registers of Historic Places.
 
The Museum collection includes artifacts, photographs, and information about the people, places, and events of Liverpool, New York.  Exhibits change periodically.
 
Information resources at the Historian's office are open to students, family history researchers and anyone interested in local history.  The historian also gives talks and tours to school classes and organizations.
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Liverpool Willow Museum, on the lawn of the Gleason Mansion, is open on Saturdays and Sundays throughout the summer, from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.  This little building is a basket-making workshop and commemorates the Liverpool willow weaving industry, which supported the Village for many years.  This shop belonged to the Hurst family and was originally located on Oswego Street. It was donated to the Village and moved to the grounds of the Gleason Mansion in 1992, and remains Village property. The Willow Museum is operated by the Historical Association of Greater Liverpool who provide funds and volunteer workers to staff and maintain the museum. Many residents and former residents of the Village have donated Liverpool willow baskets and related artifacts to what has become a significant and unique collection.
 
The Historical Association is always looking for volunteers at the museum.  Contact the Village Historian if you are interested in volunteering or for more information about the museum.
 

          Liverpool Willow Weavers
  


spacer picture